“Grampa”

Grandpa

I took a trip with Mama,
We went to see my Grandpa,
To a place, she called the home,
And he lived there all alone,
Come sit with me, my sweet girl,
Then in his lap, I did curl,
Now darling don’t look so sad,
Truly, not all is so bad,
When you really want to play,
Even on a rain-soaked day,
When the clouds hide the sun,
And you want to have some fun,
Just travel to foreign lands,
Ride camels in distant sands,
Travel with the brothers Grimm,
With the Seven Swans you can swim,
There is a Secret Garden,
Mrs. Hodgson will let you in,
Let Jason take you to see,
The Golden Fleece in a tree,
How about a trip to Mars,
Just reach out and touch the stars,
There’s a man named Andersen,
Travel with him, you will grin,
To the Garden of Paradise,
Now, that trip was very nice,
Adventures in Wonderland,
Alice takes you by the hand,
Percy Jackson goes to school,
There he proves he is no fool,,
Fly the skies with Pegasus,
Mama will not even fuss,
There are many places to go,
Books are the way to make it so

2 Comments

Filed under Children Stories, Poetry

2 responses to ““Grampa”

  1. Jenny Prany

    Gasp, I am so proud! You wrote an amazing poem! I felt like I was reading a mini version of “Oh! The Places You’ll Go” :DDDD. Were there some references to other books? I wouldn’t know hehe, I love rhyming in poems so I say you did a good job with it ;). I hope you share this with the class!

  2. I really like this one, when the weather is bad don’t feel sad, just grab a book and take a look, you’ll have fun without the sun.

Leave a Reply

