Journal #19

Thanksgiving dinner is great, supper is wonderful. The next day leftovers are ok, because I have so many leftovers…still, but on the third day I can’t stand leftovers, not one more time. That is when I use the rest of the turkey in a wonderful turkey soup. Everyone knows that soups are comfort food from heaven, so why not use those leftovers for something wonderful. This recipe is my grandmothers and I have no idea where she got it from, but it is easy and great tasting.

Grandmother’s Turkey soup

Remove most of the turkey from the bones. (Put turkey in refrigerator to be put in soup when almost done.)

Fill large pot 3/4 full of water, add turkey bones to pot.

Chop 1 onion, 4 stalks celery, and 4 carrots add to pot.

Add 1 bay leaf, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 tsp of black pepper and 1 tsp.poultry seasoning. ( *to make your own=1/3 tsp. oregano, 1/3 tsp. thyme and 1/3 tsp. sage.)

Bring the water to a boil then lower the heat to let simmer for at least three hours.

Add water when needed during cooking. you want to end up with at least 1/2 pot of soup stock.

after 2 1/2 hours, remove from heat and remove all bones from pot. I use a slotted spoon.

Bring soup stock back up to simmering and add vegetables of your choice.

While vegetables are cooking, I boil 1/2 lb. egg noodles, till al dente, drain and rinse with cold water to remove starch, then put them in a bowl to be added to personal bowls of soup.

In the last 5 min. of cooking, I chop up the leftover turkey meat, into to bite size pieces and add to soup

Turn off the heat, taste and add more salt and pepper to taste, if needed.

(*My grandmother use to make poultry seasoning up in a larger quantity and store it in an airtight jar to use when needed. Just make amount you want to keep on hand, by using equal quantity of each ingredients.)

I posted my story “Paper Tiger” today. I hope it is mistake free, but it is probably not. I will read it in a couple of days and revise as necessary .

Leave a comment

Filed under My Journal

Leave a Reply

