“The Bar” Chapter V

“The main problem, at the time, was that with the window down on my lower back, I had to put my hands in the sink to take some of the pressure had off my stomach.”

“With my hands in the sink, this of course, was full of dishes; I tried to use my back to push the window up a bit. This did not dislodge it in the smallest amount.”

“I then decided to try to balance my weight on my right hand, and try to somehow twist around and reach the window with my left hand.”

“I soon realized that it was impossible to do, the only thing I could do was to place my left arm behind me and try to push the window open that way.”

“The window was absolutely positively, stuck. I could not get it to move one little fraction no matter what I tried.”

“With no way to gain the advantage needed, I knew I was in trouble. I was hopelessly trapped, half in and half out of the window.”

“Oh no Candace, that is horrible, you were certainly in a bind. I will bet you were scared to death. I know I would have been.”

“You bet I was scared. I was to the point that I was thinking things in the line of, I could be stuck here until I die, and if I would eventually, be cut in half by the window sill.”

“I returned my hand back into the sink. My stomach was hurting so bad from having to just hang there and I did not know what to do.”

“What had you done with your purse? You should have called the police for help.”

After taking a sip of coffee, Candace answered Gloria.

“I had thrown my purse towards the far end of the counter, when I was getting ready to lift myself up into the window.”

“It was over a foot out of my reach. I continued to try to wiggle and push myself forward, to no avail, for some time.”

“After what felt like hours, I heard a car pulling into my driveway and I felt instant relief. I was going to have help. Thank you Lord was all I could think.”

“Well well, what do we have here? I do believe we have found ourselves a rainy day burglar.” “It seems to me, although I could be wrong, that this burglar just may be happy to have us here for once.” A man said.

I starting yelling, “will you please just help me out here? I can explain, I-”

“Now where have we heard those three words before,” I heard the man say.”

“I groaned when I paid attention to the voice I was hearing. I thought I recognized the voice, it sounded like Officer Grant. I started yelling again.”

“Please help me, now. I feel as though I am being cut in half.”

“I was wondering, why this officer felt the need to stand there spouting off smart ass remarks to me, when it had to be obvious that I was in pain and in need of help, when he said:”

“Now don’t go getting all upset young lady. I have called the fire department and they are on their way here. I advised them of the situation, and they are bringing a ladder to get you out of this mess. They will be here in a few minutes.”

“As the officer finished speaking, I heard the sirens in the distance.”

“True to his word, the firefighters were there in only a couple of minutes. Soon they were helping me back out of the window and down a, much stronger, ladder than I had originally used.”

“Almost immediately, I was safely on the ground and right back in the rain still locked out of my home.”

“Well-well, if it isn’t our very own car wrecker, Miss Baker. I thought we were finished with you this morning.”

“I was only trying to get into my home, Officer Grant, and then I became trapped when the window slid down on m-.”

“One of the firemen interrupted me to ask if I thought I needed to go to the hospital.”

“No thank you, I think I am all right now, thanks to you. Would it be possible for someone to unlock the back door for me? I asked him.”

“The fireman said that by law they could only break into homes when it was an emergency. He apologized and I got the feeling he would have opened the door, if it were not for the two officers standing there. I thanked him for his help and he left.”

“Miss Baker, Officer DelPino said, I will need you driver license, again.”

“Officer, my purse is inside my home. If you would be so kind as to open my damn kitchen door, I will gladly give it to you.”

“I was so upset by this time that I could not keep the anger out of my voice.”

“Now Miss Baker, we understand how this could be upsetting to you, but you must realize that we first have to establish proof of ownership, before we could even consider helping you break into this house,” Officer Grant said.

“I understand, I truly do, but this has been the worse day, ever, in my life. I have been soaking wet since seven-thirty this morning, I had a flat, caused, I do not know how many wrecks, was fired from my job,  and had to have my car towed to the mechanic’s shop.”

“If that wasn’t bad enough, I broke my key off in the front door, I had to try to break into my home, had the window fall down on my back, and now, I am starting to feel like I am coming down with a cold ,or with my luck, it will be the flu.”

“At this point, I just broke into sobbing tears. I was so physically and mentally exhausted from my day that I could not help it, I cried like a baby.”

Gloria was doing her best not to cry, but Candace saw tears shimmering in her eyes.

Officer Grant handed me a handkerchief, “Why don’t we step up on the porch and get out of this rain, while Officer DelPino checks the citation we gave you this morning. We can get your address from that.”

“His calming demeanor and soft-spoken words had me crying even harder than before.”

“O Candace, you poor darling, I am so sorry all this happened to you, Gloria said, while wiping the tears from her cheeks.

“It is a good thing I don’t wear all the eye makeup I use to wear, since I figured out it makes old folks look older,” Gloria said with laughter and a twinkle in her eyes.”

Now Gloria, you are not that old.”

“I am old enough to be your mother,” She said, while smiling through her tears.

“Sorry for interrupting, please continue the story.”

“No problem, but please don’t be sad, after all this has already happened and is over.”

Picking up where she left off in the story, Candace said, “I thankfully stepped out on the porch and out of the rain.”

“While we were waiting for the officer to return, I explained how I came to be there without my backdoor key.”

“It was not long before Officer DelPino returned and told Officer Grant, that I truly did own the house.”

“Using what Officer Grant called a slim jim; he had my door unlocked in only a minute. I thanked them profusely.”

“When the two officers started to leave, Officer Grant decided he should give me a five-minute lecture on having an alternate plan of getting in my home, from now on. I tried to be polite, but I was wet, cold, and exhausted.”

Therefore, I said, ‘I think I may have figured that out already, without your telling me.’

Officer DelPino started laughing and Officer Grant just grinned and said, “Yeah I guess you probably did.”

“When the officers turned to leave, I quickly shut the door, locking the door behind me, I ran up the stairs and into the bathroom as fast as my legs would carry me.”

“I was in the shower with the water as hot as I could stand before I ever removed my clothes. Only after the hot water started to cool off, did I finally decided it was time to get out of the shower.”

“I wrapped my hair in a towel, dried off and put my fluffy white terry cloth robe on. Dry at last, and said, thank you Lord.”

“The rest of the evening was spent on my couch with a steaming bowl of tomato soup, a grilled cheese sandwich and a good J.D. Robb book.”

“What time was it, when you finally got into the house,” Gloria asked.

After thinking for a few minutes Candace said, “If I looked at a clock I cannot remember now. I do know that when I sat down on the sofa it was six-thirty in the evening.”

“Holy cowpucky, I can’t believe it was nearly ten hours before you were able to put that dreadful day behind you. That is simply horrible. I imagine you were completely exhausted after a day like that.”

Candace was smiling as she said, “If there is a better way to say it, I cannot think of it.”

To be continued…

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction

2 responses to ““The Bar” Chapter V

  1. Your writing is outstanding! Your dialogue is great. You know as I am reading your stories little by little I find myself thinking, “wow should I get this woman’s autograph now or later?”.

    • Dear Kimberly,
      Thank you for the sweet comment on my story, “The Bar.” As you saw in class on Saturday, I am not a prolific speaker and to speak in public makes me quite nervous. But my writing skill is 100 percent due to the outstanding teaching of Dr. French. I was probably the worst writer in class, when it started and by no means the best, when our class was over. That was what I was trying to convey to your class on Saturday.
      Listen and follow her direction, do not be shy in asking her questions. She is one in a million, when it comes to professors. From what I read of yours so far, by the time you complete this class, you will have surpassed me by a mile.
      Your friend,
      Redonia

Leave a Reply

